Nigeria Becomes First African Country To Qualify For #Russia2018 ..Plus List Of Qualified Nations

The Senior Men’s football team of Nigeria, Super Eagles is the first African team to qualify for Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Nigeria got off to a bright start in their Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying campaign on October 9, 2016, when they defeated Zambia 2-1 to pick up their first ever away win against the Chipolopolo stars in a competitive game.

The Super Eagles thereafter went on to maintain their unbeaten run in the qualifying series, beating 3-1 Algeria on November 12, 2016, South Africa 2-0 on June 10, 2017, Cameroun 4-0 on August 1, 2017, in Nigeria and drew 1-1 away on August 4, 2017.

The Gernot Rohr came into Saturday’s game looking for three points to qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Though the team struggled in the first half as the Chipolopolo proved too strong for the Super Eagles, Arsenal player, Alex Iwobi rose to the occasion as he sent Nigeria to Russia with a beautiful strike on the 74th minutes to end the game 1-0 in favour of Nigeria to qualify the three times African Champions for the 2018 World Cup.

The win means the Gernot Rohr have qualified for the competition for the 6th time in their history, joining other teams for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Qualified nations for Russia 2018 World Cup:

  • Brazil
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Belgium
  • South Korea
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Germany
  • England
  • Spain
  • Nigeria.

For information on Press Releases, Photos, Promotional Events and Adverts, Please Call or Send a Text to 08092220500 or 07054546495 or send email to:



READ ALSO  Akwa Ibom Police Command Tightens Security Ahead of Nigeria-Zambia Clash

Follow us on twitter @AledehLive

(C)2017 ALEDEH.
We have granted you Permission to use materials or portions from this piece subject to due credit given to ALEDEH as the source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *